REGULAR BOARD MEETING May 16, 2016 (Unapproved)

The Pelican Rapids Board of Education held a regular meeting on May 16, 2016 in the board room at the high school at 6:30 p.m. Board members present: Mitch Monson, Kathy Ouren, Dena Johnson, Jon Karger, Charlie Blixt, Mike Forsgren. Board members absent: None. Others present: Superintendent Wanek, Barb Ripley, Brian Korf, Troy Poach, Mark Grefsrud, Cary Haugrud, Jeff Peter, Lou Hoglund, Paul Restad.

The meeting was called to order and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Jon Karger.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the meeting agenda with the following additions to the consent agenda:

Hire Trudy Gorton as District Head Cook

Hire Jessica Kulsrud as High School Head Cook

The motion was seconded by Mitch Monson and carried.

Mike Forsgren moved to approve the consent agenda consisting of the following items:

Approve board minutes of the April 6 & 18, 2016 meetings

Approve payment of the 4/30/16 and May bills as presented

Approve donations:

To NHS – PR Lions Club \$50

To School Patrol – American Legion \$275

To School Patrol – American Legion Aux \$275

Personnel:

Accept the resignation of Bob Kohler as ALC para effective May 26, 2016 Accept the resignation of Kimberly Hernandez as parent liaison effective May 13, 2016

Hire Emily Martin-Thompson as high school special education teacher for 2016-17

Hire Heidi Smith as elementary art teacher - .77 FTE for 2016-17

Hire Heidi Henkes as a 2nd grade teacher for 2016-17

Hire Charla Seter as a 1st grade teacher for 2016-17

Hire Bridgette Holl as NHS advisor for 2016-17

Hire Bridgette Holl as yearbook advisor for 2016-17

Hire Trudy Gorton as district head cook

Hire Jessica Kulsrud as high school head cook

Approve summer workers: Todd Huseby, Sheri O'Brien, Kati Thorson, Sam

Waller, Kyle Haugrud, Logan Knorr, Zane Brosowske

Acknowledge the Memorandum of Agreement between Lakes Country Service Cooperative and Bimbo Bakeries, USA for bread and bread products for the 2016-17 school year.

The motion was seconded by Dena Johnson and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the transportation contract with Christianson Bus Service, Inc. for 2016-17. The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Jon Karger introduced the following resolution and moved its adoption:

2016-17 RESOLUTION FOR MEMBERSHIP IN THE MINNESOTA STATE HIGH SCHOOL LEAGUE

RESOLVED, that the Governing Board of School District Number 548, County of Otter Tail, State of Minnesota delegates the control, supervision and regulation of Interscholastic athletic and fine arts events (referred to in MN Statutes, section 128C.01) to the Minnesota State High School League, and so hereby certifies to the State Commissioner of Education as provided for by Minnesota Statutes.

FURTHER RESOLVED, that the high school listed below:

Pelican Rapids High School

Is authorized by this, the Governing Board of said school district or school to:

Renew its membership in the Minnesota State High School League; and,

FURTHER RESOLVED, that this Governing Board hereby adopts the Constitution, bylaws, Rules and Regulations of said league and all amendments thereto as the same as are published in the latest edition of the League's *Official Handbook*, on file at the office of the school district or as appears on the League's website, as the minimum standards governing participation in said League-sponsored activities, and that the administration and responsibility for determining student eligibility and for the supervision of such activities are assigned to the official representatives identified by the Governing Board.

The motion was seconded by Mitch Monson and upon a vote being taken the following voted for: Johnson, Monson, Karger, Blixt, Forsgren, and Ouren And the following voted against:

None

Whereupon said resolution was declared duly passed and adopted.

Mike Forsgren moved to approve the 2nd reading of the cell phone policy. The motion was seconded by Dena Johnson and carried.

Kathy Ouren moved to approve the graduation list for 2016. The motion was seconded by Mike Forsgren and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the final budget for 2015-16. The motion was seconded by Charlie Blixt and carried.

Dena Johnson, Clerk